What Players Really Think About the Big 12

The full anonymous player survey

Open For Business

Today is a special edition of Open For Business. Because so many people have subscribed in the last week or two (welcome!), I wanted to give everybody the entire anonymous Big 12 player survey from Big 12 Media Days. 

I was able to ask Big 12 players about their favorite coach in the league, who they think will win the league, tampering in the portal, and much more – all while they remained anonymous. 

If you enjoy the content, make sure to share it with a friend! They can sign up for the newsletter at www.ofbnews.com.

Big 12 Anonymous Player Survey

Arizona Desert Swarm

Who do you think will win the Big 12 title this year (without picking your own team)?

And the winner is…

Arizona!

Arizona – 5
Utah – 4
Oklahoma State – 2
K-State – 1
West Virginia – 1
Iowa State – 1
No Answer – 2

What the players said:

“Arizona. I want Arizona.”

“I think Oklahoma State’s a good team, and Iowa State’s always a tough game for us. Utah has a good QB and a good team. I’d say one of those three.”

“Toss up, man. Probably as far as their resume, it’s Arizona and Utah. Those will be big games for anybody who plays them.”

“I couldn’t even answer that question. There are a lot of really talented teams.”

“I think West Virginia is solid. I wouldn’t be surprised if they make it there.”

What is the toughest Big 12 stadium to play in?

And the winner is…

Boone Pickens Stadium! Home of the Oklahoma State Cowboys

Boone Pickens Stadium (Oklahoma State) – 4
Bill Snyder Family Stadium (K-State) – 3
Milan Puskar Stadium (West Virginia) – 2
Jack Trice Stadium (Iowa State) – 2
Amon G. Carter Stadium (TCU) – 2
Rice-Eccles Stadium (Utah) – 1
Jones AT&T Stadium (Texas Tech) – 1
LaVell Edwards Stadium (BYU) – 1

What the players said:

“I would say OK State. The paddles on that board…that’s different. That’s an atmosphere that you don’t get anywhere else.”

“Stillwater. Just having the fans right on top of you – there’s something about it. It’s really loud. There’s just a cool feeling in the air at that place.

“Playing at West V is hard. It’s because of the way that the stadium is made and their fans. You can feel the turf shaking on third down. It’s just as loud as Texas, but they’ve got 110 (thousand), and West V maybe has 60? They find a way to be rowdy, and it’s really cool to see.” 

“We have our own weird shit. I’ve heard people throw batteries.

“Iowa State. Without question. It’s just different. They have a great fan base and a great team. Iowa State, for sure.” 

“Probably Kansas State, man. It’s tough to go down there and get a win.”

“I didn’t necessarily feel like there was any stadium that was tough to play in. I thought Texas would be like it, but it wasn’t. It wasn’t loud. I played at Autzen Stadium and that was a really difficult place to play. I didn’t have any games last year that felt like that.”

“Texas Tech. Their fans throw those things on us before the game. So that’s one thing.”

CBS Sports

Besides your own coach, who which Big 12 coach would you most want to play for?

And the winner is…

Gus Malzahn from UCF!

Gus Malzahn (UCF) – 5
Sonny Dykes (TCU) – 2
Lance Leipold (Kansas) – 1
Matt Campbell (ISU) – 1
Mike Gundy (OSU) – 1
Kyle Whittingham – 1
Steve Sarkisian (Texas…I know, I know) – 1

What the players said:

“Gus Malzahn would be dope. I liked Auburn growing up, and he and Nick Marshall were dope. I like the offense that he runs.”

“Gus. UCF Is close to home. He’s a great coach, too.”

I love the fire and passion that Matt Campbell coaches with.”

“I don’t know much about Sonny Dykes, but I’ve heard that he’s a good coach.”

“Probably since I was very close to going there anyway, it’d be Kyle Whittingham and Utah.” 

“If it wasn’t for (my coach), I wouldn’t be in the Big 12. Maybe I’d play for Sarkisian.”

“I can’t answer that because I don’t know anyone else’s coaches. I know what Neal Breezy’s bringing to the table.”

Enjoying Open For Business? Please share the newsletter with three of your friends who want Big 12 news without SEC or Big Ten bias. Forward them a newsletter and tell them to sign up at OFBNews.com to get started today!

Would you want to play for Coach Prime at Colorado?

The consensus is…

No! Seven of the 15 players surveyed said they wouldn’t want to play for Coach Prime.

No – 7
Yes – 4
Not Sure – 4

What they said:

“Nah, I wouldn’t. He brings too much attention to non-football stuff, and I want to just get straight to business.”

“Nope. Nope. I’m good on that. I’ve heard what it’s like over there. I’m good on that.”

“I’d probably play for Deion, man. How you can not? He gives guys an opportunity. Like he said, he plays a lot of freshmen. He’s looking at the bigger picture, man. He’s gonna be a great coach, and they’re eventually going to be a great program.”

“I can’t really answer that question. I don’t really know him personally. For me, I have to get to know you on a personal level before I can say I want to play for you. I want to play for someone with similar values.” 

“No. Absolutely not. No offense, but no.”

“I wouldn’t want to play for him. I definitely respect his swag that he brings to the game. I just wouldn’t like to have all that media attention sometimes. I want to focus on ball.”

“I was recruited by Coach Prime. Great dude. I just don’t think I could see myself in Colorado. Up there in the elevation?”

“Based off of him being a legend in the game of football, being able to learn different gems and little things from him would probably be amazing.”

“I don’t know. We have a couple of players that have transferred from Colorado. I think I’d have to experience it. It’s kind of hard because all I’ve heard is hearsay from everybody else.”

“I think he’s a little different when the cameras are on versus when the cameras are off. All you see is what they want to put on social media and TikTok.”

Southeastern Conference

How often have Big Ten and SEC schools tried to tamper you into the transfer portal?

“I personally haven’t experienced it, but I have heard of guys on our team and guys who are no longer on our team experiencing that. That’s definitely a real thing.”

“It’s very real. I think it’s more about the players that score the touchdowns. It’s just how the world works right now. It’s a part of being a football player.”

“The game has evolved. Recruiting has evolved. It’s all a part of what it is now. If you’re at where you want to be at, that stuff doesn’t affect you. If you’re somewhere you don’t want to be at, that stuff will affect you. That’s just how it is now.”

“A couple just came directly to me on social media. Those were wild. I was like, ‘You’re an idiot. You’re going to get yourself fired. I’m deleting this message. I’m not going to be involved in this.’ There were others that just went through my Dad or someone else.”

“The last three years I’ve had teams reach out to me. Just saying hey we have amount x,y, and z if you come and play here. I never really entertained them.”

“I think it goes both ways if you’re a guy that really shops yourself out there just to see what options are out there.”

“With the time we’re in right now, it’s known for teams to come after players. You’re just able to tell what players are loyal to the program.”

“It more happens from the group of five level to the power five level than it does the power five to the power five level. It used to be if you had a good player at North Texas he was there for four years. That doesn’t happen anymore.”

“It’s a thing that happens but I didn’t pay any mind to it. I never really thought about going anywhere else.”

“People try to reach out, but it never came across my mind to even try to seek those things out.”

How accurate are the NIL numbers that we see on social media?

“I think for the most part it’s overstated. I’ve heard some crazy things from guys who left that stuff that was promised to them didn’t happen as much as they thought. I think a lot of it is exaggerated.”

“I think a few of the numbers are (realistic). But I’ve seen NIL valuations of myself online, and some undershoot it, and some overshoot it. I think there are truths and lies to all of it.”

“I mean we’re about to go into this revenue sharing, and my school made $149 million off of athletics last year. So, it’s like…it doesn’t seem like it’s gonna be that far-fetched anymore.”

“Probably pretty accurate honestly. I’m not too aware of what other people are making, but with these collectives out there nowadays, it’s probably pretty accurate.”

How will Texas and Oklahoma fare in the SEC this year?

“Texas will be pretty good this year. They’ll be somewhere toward the top four teams. I think Oklahoma will be kind of middle of the pack.”

“Oklahoma? Not well. With a new quarterback, a lot of guys leaving, and a not-solidified program, it’s going to be tough.”

“Texas will be fine just off of size and experience. Quinn is a good quarterback, and he’ll be able to operate within that.” 

“Oklahoma has a really tough schedule. I was talking to a friend about that. It’s going to be interesting.”

“I think they’re gonna do alright. It’s gonna be interesting to see how physical they play against the Bama and Floridas.”

Special thanks to all of the players who took the time to participate and all of the SIDs and communications staffers in the Big 12 who helped facilitate.

Talk soon!

Prefer Big 12 news in video form? Subscribe to my YouTube Channel and join the hundreds of Big 12 fans who watch live on Wednesday and Sunday nights. The channel has 20,000+ subscribers and counting from all across the college football world. Don’t miss out!